Michigan Education Association

Michigan James A. Davenport Award of Merit

This award is given annually to honor a member who has given a significant
amount of time, energy and service to higher education statewide and nationally.

The award is presented at the June meeting of the MAHE Executive Committee. The recipient receives a plaque and has his/her name added to the permanent record of recipients displayed at MEA headquarters in East Lansing, Michigan.

Nominations for the James A. Davenport Award of Merit are award due April 1, 2012.

Download the nomination form.


MEA leader honored with national higher education award

SVSU’s Gloria Wagener being presented with the James Davenport Award by NCHE President Jim Rice.

Gloria Wagener from Saginaw Valley State University was presented with the James Davenport Award by the National Council for Higher Education (NCHE) at its conference last month. This national award recognizes Wagener’s career of accomplishments working on behalf of higher education members of MEA and NEA.
Wagener has served for the past 23 years on the Michigan Education Association Board of Directors, while serving for 20 years as president of her local at Saginaw Valley State University.  She served on the original Standing Committee on Higher Education and on the Executive Board of the National Council for Higher Education for 17 years -- seven of those years as secretary-treasurer helping to formulate policies and establish the Council as a leading advocate for higher education members.  In addition, Wagener also served for eight years on the NEA Resolutions Committee and was a charter member of NCHE.

The Davenport Award honors James Davenport (1938–1989), a faculty member at Washtenaw Community College and the first president of the National Council for Higher Education. He worked tirelessly for over two decades for higher education faculty and programs within the NEA and internationally. His dedication to the higher education community and belief that all educators must work together as one family (pre-K–G) are memorialized in this award.



Updated: November 22, 2011 10:30 AM