Legislation Commission

Note: The Legislation Commission is striving to obtain member input for determining our 2014-2016 legislative priorities. Meetings will be conducted at Region Councils and other appropriate MEA events between September-November of 2014.

Please click here to provide your input on MEA's 2014-16 legislative priorities.

2014-15 Charge:
To help ensure that the education of our students and the working environments of our members are of the highest quality.

To help develop local capacity by the identification and development of strategies that help locals increase member participation in the legislative process at the local and state level.

Goal:  Develop the two-year legislative package.

This commission meets regularly every other year to prepare and present a two-year legislative package (fall of even years).

2012 Brian Harding (2015-RA-Reg 10)  
2012 Ned Burdick (2015-RA-Reg 7)  
2011 Laura Morrisson (2016-RA-Reg 9)  
2014 Dichondra Johnson (2016-RA-Reg 8)  
2014 Mary Aldecoa (2017-RA-Reg 8)  
2013 Jack Schneider (2017-RA-MEA-Retired) Vice Chair
2014 Michael Koen (2017-BD-Reg 3)   
2014 Mark Carlson (2017-BD-Reg 6)  
2014 Chandra Madafferi (2015-BD-Reg 7)  
2013 Jeff Leonhardt (2016-BdM-Reg 15)  
2010 Roy Freeman (2017-BdM-Reg 5)  
2014 Jim Brousseau (2017-BdM-Reg 3)  
2014 Jenifer Almassy (2017-NEA Director)  
2007 Nick Valenti (2015-MAHE) Chair
2014 Vacancy (2015-SMEA)  
Staff Liaison  David Michelson