Workgroup to review quality of charters and all public schools

Quality and accountability were key issues during the debate on SB 618 to lift the cap on charter schools. The only amendment to pass dealing with the issues created a bicameral, bipartisan workgroup focusing on “improving the educational quality in all public schools for all pupils.”

Gov. Rick Snyder signed SB 618—which has now become PA 277—and the Workgroup on School Quality will begin meeting this month. Their recommendations for the House and Senate education committees are due March 30.

Members of the committee are Senators Hoon-Yung Hopgood (D-Taylor), Bruce Caswell (R-Hillsdale), Patrick Colbeck (R-Canton), and Phil Pavlov (R-St. Clair) and Representatives David Rutledge (D-Yspsilanti), Bill Rogers (R-Brighton), Mike Shirkey (R-Clarklake), and Ken Yonker (R-Caledonia). Pavlov is chair of the workgroup.